Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide: Circulation Policies

Circulation

A HSU barcoded ID card is necessary for faculty to borrow materials or place materials on Reserve. Members of the HSU faculty may check out most HSU materials for a semester.

All library patrons, including faculty members, must have non-delinquent records with all five Abilene Consortium libraries in order to check out materials. Faculty members who check out materials and lend them to students are responsible for replacing lost materials. Students who need materials should check them out directly from the library.

In order for student workers or graduate students to check out materials for a faculty member:

Written permission must be sent each semester to the circulation department and

The student should bring his or her own HSU ID and the faculty member's ID to the library for identification.

With the semester checkout period:

If there is a request for a particular item, the library will notify the faculty member and will expect the item to be returned within one week.

HSU items must be renewed each semester. This may be done by telephone or memo in August and December. However, once a year (in May) the faculty member must bring all items back to the library for renewal.

Items checked out from ACU, HPU and McM are due back within 30 days. APL items are due back within 21 days.

Items can be renewed electronically via the library website as long as your account is in good standing, the items are not overdue and have no hold placed on them. Most items can be renewed a maximum of two times.

When faculty members do not renew or return library materials, the library reserves the right to bill the appropriate academic department in order to replace these materials. 

Weeding, Withdrawing and Discarding

In accordance with defined procedures, the Dean of University Libraries is expected to withdraw (for sale, discard, or exchange) titles which are obsolete and which are no longer appropriate to the library's collection.

For the purpose of weeding the collection, at least one faculty member, chosen by the dean, or the department head of the subject area being weeded, will be asked to concur that an item should be withdrawn from the collection. In large weeding projects, a librarian will select items for potential withdrawal, temporarily remove the items from the shelves, and place them in a holding area. Faculty from the appropriate area will be given approximately six weeks to indicate which items are to be retained in the collection. After this time has elapsed, the remainder of the items will be permanently removed from the Hardin-Simmons University Libraries collection.

Items which are discovered to be lost, missing or damaged beyond repair will be withdrawn. When there is the likelihood that these materials are still available for purchase, the appropriate school or department will be notified so that consideration may be given to replacement.

Rare Books

Requests to view, read, or handle HSU Rare Books will be approved under the following guidelines:

Rare books and materials do not circulate.

Research for non-HSU scholars may be scheduled by making a written request on institutional letterhead and addressed to the Dean of University Libraries. The researcher should indicate which volumes will be needed, why the HSU volumes are requested, and what information is being sought. A librarian will determine if there is a compelling reason for the researcher to consult the rare materials, and schedule an appointment with the researcher.

HSU classes may tour the Fine and Rare Books Room if accompanied by a librarian and scheduled in advance. The materials may be viewed through the glass cabinets or display cases.

HSU faculty members may schedule volumes to be viewed outside of the cabinets or display cases, if the class curriculum is connected to the particular rare book requested.

HSU students and members of the faculty wishing to use rare materials should make the request to the Dean of Librariesindicating which volumes will be needed. A librarian will determine if there is a compelling reason for the researcher to consult the rare materials, and schedule an appointment with the researcher.

Rare books taken out of their storage area will not be left unattended at any time.

The copying of rare materials is not allowed.

Reserves

On occasion, there are materials other than course texts which you will want your students to read or use, but will not require them to purchase. To assist you, the library has special circulation procedures for these types of materials. Since these materials are reserved for specific users, they are included in the RESERVE COLLECTION. Any type of library material may be placed on reserve. Depending on the format, such items are kept and requested at the circulation desks in the Richardson Library or Smith Music Library. For the protection of heavily used materials, the library staff may place additional items in the Reserve Collection.

Types of Reserve

There are different types of reserves based on the length of time the reserved materials may be checked out or on their particular format. Select the amount of time the reserve items for your class should be kept out according to the amount of use the material will receive and the length of the readings. The different types of reserve are:

TWO-HOUR RESERVE - Reserve item may be used for a maximum of 2 hours, and used in the library only.

ONE-DAY RESERVE - Reserve item may be checked out anytime during the day and returned anytime the next day before closing.

THREE-DAY RESERVE - Reserve item may be checked out anytime during the day; due three days later.

SEVEN-DAY RESERVE - Reserve item may be checked out anytime during the day; due 7 days later.

Placing an Item on Reserve

To place an item on reserve, bring items to the Circulation desk with your HSU ID and complete a Reserve Request Form for each course having reserve materials, indicating: your name, phone extension; department and course number, and the length/type of the reserve loan period. ALLOW AT LEAST 2 WORKING DAYS FOR THE LIBRARY STAFF TO PREPARE PAPER MATERIALS FOR RESERVE USE. Reserve items such as articles or chapters from books must have complete bibliographic citations on the item. Please do not make reserve assignments before items are placed on reserve.

When preparing your reserve list, consider the following:

Audiovisual materials are placed on reserve through the Circulation Desk while music materials are placed on reserve through the Smith Music Library (ext. 1433).

Normally, only those books for use by several members of the class should be placed on reserve. Normal circulation policies will allow students to use materials under other circumstances.

Avoid placing large numbers of books on reserve for individual courses.

As of January 1, 1978, the copyright law prohibits instructors from placing multiple copies of photocopied journal articles or sections of books on reserve unless its use can meet the tests of “spontaneity,” “brevity,” or “cumulative effect;” however, to protect bound volumes of periodicals, the library may substitute one photocopy of an article for the bound volume.

Photocopies of entire journals or books may not go on reserve without written permission from the copyright holder.

Faculty members should notify the library before making specific assignments in periodicals owned by the Richardson Library. The particular bound volume or issue or a photocopy of the article should be placed on Reserve for the duration of the assignment.

Materials placed on reserve are available to anyone who will follow the reserve checkout and return procedures, even if they are not in a specific class.

Personal copies may be placed on reserve. In order to facilitate control of these items, personal copies are assigned call numbers, labeled, and given book pockets. The library cannot assume responsibility for personal copies beyond normal circulation control.

The library will make the final determination of the number of copies of a title to be placed on reserve and the length of the loan period.

The User Services Librarian will provide semester reports for faculty members concerning items on reserve and statistical usage of items upon request. This will give you an opportunity to review the lists and determine Reserve Collection needs or changes. The User Services Librarian, (ext. 1237) is available to answer questions about the library's reserve policy or procedures.