This guide is designed to help Hardin-Simmons students and faculty find and access resources in Theatre.
Explore the information in this guide to discover useful places to search for background information, books, articles, and more.
Specialized Theatre Resources
Play IndexCovers new editions and translations of classic and historical plays as well as the works of contemporary playwrights. Covers one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues. Includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
English Videos (Films on Demand)Award-winning digital content in streaming video, this collection offers great literary films, critical analysis and insights, conversations with authors and playwrights, documentaries, and much, much more. Covers literature, drama and theater, and communication. Remote access with University Network Account.
Literature Resource CenterProvides journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 130,000 authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography and more.
MLA International BibliographyThe Modern Language Association of America indexes journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, rhetoric, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. The indexed materials coverage is international.
Humanities SourceFull Text Offers worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought through full text articles, original works, interviews, book and performance reviews and more, covering all aspects of the humanities including art, communications, history, literature, music, dance and the performing arts, literary and social criticism, philosophy, religion, and many other topics. Remote access with University network account.
Literary Reference CenterComprehensive full text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works from respected reference works, books, and literary journals. Features author biographies, plot summaries, work overviews, author interviews, critical essays and book reviews in addition to the actual texts, poems, and short stories.
Related General Databases
Academic Search CompleteFull Text. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering many areas of academic study including archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTORFull Text. An archive of back issues of scholarly journals in the disciplines of the arts, sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics. No current issues.
MasterFILE PremierFull Text. Contains periodicals covering general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and more. Coverage dates back to 1975 and includes reference works, primary source documents, photos, maps, and images.
ArticleFirstProvides an index of journal articles taken from the table of contents of publications in business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, social sciences, science, and technology.
ECOElectronic Collection Online provides bibliographic information for articles from selected scholarly journals covering a broad range of subjects, with links to full text for subscribed content
HSU Electronic JournalsFull Text. A search interface allowing the user to find full-text journal subscriptions available to the HSU community from any subscribed database. Search by journal title or by subject area.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)ull Text. DOAJ is a comprehensive directory of scientific and scholarly journals, many of which provide free access to full text articles. Covers research in the arts, sciences, literature, law, politics, economics, philosophy, and religion among other topics.
E-books on EBSCOhostFull text. (EBSCO) Full Text. Offers electronic versions of reference, professional and scholarly books (e-books) in a wide variety of subjects. Read the digitized texts page by page or search for specific content.
Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.