It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to help Hardin-Simmons students and faculty find and access resources in Music.
Explore the information in this guide to discover useful places to search for background information, books, articles, and more.
Specialized Music Resources
Oxford Music OnlineIncludes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, as well as the previous components of New Grove Online: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and newly commissioned material. Some musical examples are available in sound.
Music Index OnlineA subject/author guide to music periodical literature published since 1975, covering all styles and genres of music. Cites book reviews, obituaries, news, and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
JSTORFull Text. An archive of back issues of scholarly journals in the disciplines of the arts, sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics. No current issues.
Related General Databases
Academic Search CompleteFull Text. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering many areas of academic study including archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Humanities SourceFull Text Offers worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought through full text articles, original works, interviews, book and performance reviews and more, covering all aspects of the humanities including art, communications, history, literature, music, dance and the performing arts, literary and social criticism, philosophy, religion, and many other topics. Remote access with University network account.
MasterFILE PremierFull Text. Contains periodicals covering general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and more. Coverage dates back to 1975 and includes reference works, primary source documents, photos, maps, and images.
ArticleFirstProvides an index of journal articles taken from the table of contents of publications in business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, social sciences, science, and technology.
ECOElectronic Collection Online provides bibliographic information for articles from selected scholarly journals covering a broad range of subjects, with links to full text for subscribed content
Test your knowledge of popular music from the 1950s to the present.
Search Music Research Roundup!
HSU Electronic JournalsFull Text. A search interface allowing the user to find full-text journal subscriptions available to the HSU community from any subscribed database. Search by journal title or by subject area.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)ull Text. DOAJ is a comprehensive directory of scientific and scholarly journals, many of which provide free access to full text articles. Covers research in the arts, sciences, literature, law, politics, economics, philosophy, and religion among other topics.
E-books on EBSCOhostFull text. (EBSCO) Full Text. Offers electronic versions of reference, professional and scholarly books (e-books) in a wide variety of subjects. Read the digitized texts page by page or search for specific content.
Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.