Beginning on p. 67, bibliography of 70 methods and teaching material, 150 journal articles, 17 books,11 dissertations, a classified bibliography by instrumentation of 350 scores, and a discography of LP recordings.
Dated. Appendix III on p. 194 offers a bibliography of approximately 900 works classified into the following sections: (1) bassoon alone, (2) bassoon and keyboard, (3) bassoon and orchestra, (4) concertos for bassoon with other solo instruments and orchestra, and (5) chamber music for bassoon and strings. Lengthy discography of bassoonist performances.
Dated. The appendix, beginning on p. 53, provides a listing of approximately 500 works for bassoon organized into the following classifications: (1) bassoon and orchestra, (2) solo instruments and orchestra, (3) bassoon and piano, (4) bassoons only, (5) chamber music for bassoon and strings, and (6) miscellaneous chamber music.
Call Number: Abilene Christian University, Ref. 780.016 W685I
Publication Date: 1976
Bibliography of more than 4,000 works for bassoon in the following categories: (1) bassoon methods, (2) bassoon studies, (3) bassoon solos (unaccompanied), (4) duets, (5) trios, (6) quartets, (7) quintets, (8) woodwind quintets, (9) sextets, (10) septets, (11) octets, (12) nonets, (13) ten or more instruments, (14) bassoon and piano, (15) bassoon and guitar, (16) flute, bassoon & piano, (17) quartets with piano, (18) quintets with piano, (19) woodwind quintet and piano, (20) six and more with piano, (21) books of interest, (22) vocal pieces, (23) bassoon and band, (25) bassoon and orchestra. Includes an index to baroque trio sonatas.
3 volume dictionary/encyclopedia of musical instruments. The entry on "bassoon" is approximately 15 pages and is divided into the following sections: (1) Construction, (2) The Reed, (3) Historical Predecessors, (4) The Early Bassoon (to 1800), (5) Development of the Modern Bassoon, (6) Repertory and Use, (7) Performers and Teachers, (8) The Double Bassoon, and (9) Small
Bassoons. Photos and illustrations. Bibliography of approximately 45 books and articles
Provides information about the Paris Conservatoire and offers an annotated bibliography of approximately 70 commissioned contest solos from 1824 to 1984. Index of bassoonists, composers, and directors.